Model comparisons

RYOBI PCLST05B vs PCLST05K: tool only or the 4Ah kit?

These two RYOBI codes share the same small 18V ONE+ mower/trimmer/edger tool. The deciding difference is what arrives in the carton—and whether the 12-inch line-cutting deck is appropriate for your lawn at all.

Shared tool, shared limits

Both versions center on the PCLST05 line-trimmer body and detachable 12-inch mower deck. The deck has four height positions from 1.5 to 3.5 inches. Remove it to trim; twist the head to edge. RYOBI lists .080-inch line, an adjustable 10–12-inch trim swath and automatic line feed. Its “over one hour” claim is tied to a 4Ah battery but not to a specific mowing, trimming or edging task, so it is not a guaranteed mowing duration or yard-area figure.

The combo is aimed at light maintenance on small yards. Its narrow deck means more passes than a typical 16- to 21-inch push mower. The mower setup is based on a string-trimmer head, not a conventional rotary blade; the exact product pages do not list a bagger, mulch plug or standard clipping route. If you need one of those as an essential feature, compare a regular mower instead of treating “3-in-1” as three clipping methods.

What changes by purchase code?

Exact configurationIncluded power itemsBest starting point when…Important limit
PCLST05BTool, detachable deck, grass deflector, front handle; no battery or chargerYou already own a compatible 18V ONE+ battery and charger.Do not add the kit's battery/runtime claim to the bare-tool carton.
PCLST05KSame tool/deck pieces plus one PBP004 4Ah battery and one 18V chargerYou need the basic battery/charger set in the same purchase.Only one pack is included; the page does not state the charger model or a mode-specific runtime.

Decide on mowing fit before battery fit

First ask whether a 12-inch, operator-guided line deck matches the size and character of the area. If the answer is no, the distinction between B and K does not solve the underlying mismatch. A dedicated walk-behind such as the RYOBI P1190 covers a wider 16-inch conventional mower path and supports rear bagging, while PCLST05 trades a narrower mowing role for built-in trimming and edging. Choose on how the lawn must be cut, not simply on battery-system familiarity.

Before operation, follow the exact PCLST05 operator instructions for slope, wet grass, cleaning and service; a shared battery platform does not make safety limits transferable from another ONE+ tool. RYOBI does not publish a numeric yard-coverage figure on the product page. Task-specific runtime, the K kit's charger model and the deck's contribution to the published 11.2-pound tool weight are also not specified there.

Short answer: choose B when the battery system is already in your shed; choose K when you want one 4Ah pack and a charger included. Choose neither if you need a wide rotary mower, self-propelled movement or a verified bagging/mulching setup.

Carry the yard details into your shortlist.

Build my shortlist →