Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Is a published lowest deck setting of 3/4 inch or lower important?
The exact VXA manual lists seven approximate positions beginning at 3/4 inch; that is a machine setting, not a recommendation to cut every lawn that low.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you want variable Smart Drive rather than fixed gears or push-only travel?
Honda lists the VXA as a variable-speed Smart Drive model with a 0–3.8 mph range.
Explore this need in the finder →Do you need blade disengagement while the engine keeps running?
The VXA has Roto-Stop blade disengagement; verify the clutch operates correctly on any used mower.
Explore this need in the finder →When identifying an earlier VXA, is a lever-style Roto-Stop actuator essential?
Honda’s manual for this serial band uses a forward-moving Roto-Stop lever; the adjacent K6/K7 manuals use a push button.
Explore this need in the finder →Must the manual document both a 21-inch cut and an included grass bag?
Honda lists a 21-inch cutting width and describes the grass bag and mulching plug. It does not publish a bag-capacity value for this manual band.
Explore this need in the finder →Does Honda need to confirm this individual mower is recall-unaffected?
A type and serial band cannot establish repair completion. Honda’s recall lookup requires the mower’s individual identifiers and service status.
Explore this need in the finder →Identify the manual band before judging the mower
This assessment covers the Honda HRR216K3VXA whose MZCG frame serial falls from 7,200,001 through 7,399,999. Honda's U.S. HRR owner-manual selector links that band to manual 31VL0B01, whose cover says HRR216VXA. Honda's parts-catalog listing identifies K3 across the broader 7,200,001–7,699,999 interval. The next selector-linked VXA manual, B10, begins at 7,400,001; B10's serial interval also crosses the K3-to-K4 boundary. Read the frame number, not just the red deck or HRR216 badge, before using a manual or ordering parts.
What the B01 manual documents
Within this early K3 serial slice, Honda specifies a 21-inch cut, seven approximate height positions from 3/4 to 4 inches, rear bagging and mulching with the supplied plug. Honda's table does not state the grass bag's bushel capacity. If collection volume matters, do not borrow the 2.4-bushel number from a later manual.
Smart Drive is a variable-speed rear-wheel transmission. Honda says speed responds to pressure on its hand or thumb control, with a stated 0–3.8 mph range. That can suit an operator who prefers continuous pace adjustment to a few fixed gears, but it does not prove the drive on a used mower is functioning or that it will hold a chosen speed on every surface. The mower starts by recoil; the manual gives no electric-start option.
Blade engagement is a separate operation from ground drive. The operator holds the blade-control lever and pushes the Roto-Stop lever forward to engage the blade. Releasing the blade-control lever stops blade rotation; a separate throttle control stops the engine. This clutch arrangement can be useful when pausing blade rotation without shutting down the engine, but a worn or maladjusted used control can defeat the convenience. Demonstrate its operation safely and have a technician inspect faults instead of assuming the handle controls still match the manual.
Operating limits and upkeep
The specification table lists a Honda GCV160, 160 cc, air-cooled four-stroke engine, 5.5 bhp maximum at 3,600 rpm and 8.4 ft-lb maximum torque at 2,500 rpm. Those are Honda's published engine ratings, not a mower test or a promise of cutting output. The manual lists 94.1 lb dry weight and a 0.29 U.S.-gallon fuel tank. It calls for unleaded gasoline rated at least 86 pump octane and permits up to 10% ethanol. Up to 5% methanol is allowed only with cosolvents and corrosion inhibitors; blends beyond the stated limits may cause starting or fuel-system problems. It lists SAE 10W-30 oil and gives spark-plug alternatives, so use the exact manual for maintenance rather than a later K-series chart.
Honda says to avoid steep slopes over 20 degrees and warns that wet or uneven footing can cause loss of control. This is a manufacturer safety boundary, not a certification that a particular hillside is safe. The manual does not state maximum lawn area, run time or bag volume. Do not turn engine displacement, tank size or the 21-inch deck into an acreage estimate.
Who this earlier configuration may suit
This is useful as an identification-led reference for someone considering an older, used HRR216 who wants a documented 21-inch gas mower, self-propelled Smart Drive, lever-style Roto-Stop, bagging or mulching, and a 3/4-inch lowest setting. Choosing “gas,” “self-propelled,” “bagging” or “mulching,” and “earlier model” can fit that plan. A requirement for electric starting, a confirmed 2.4-bushel bag, a button-style Roto-Stop, a current model, or a specified lawn-area rating should move the shopper elsewhere or remain unmet rather than being inferred.
The B10-linked VXA review covers a later manual band with a different listed dry weight, tank capacity and engine rating, and that band crosses two catalogued model suffixes. K6 and K7 have their own serial ranges and button Roto-Stop controls; K7 also begins at a higher minimum cut. The type name alone is not enough to choose between them. If an exact suffix or part fit is essential, use Honda's serial-matched parts listing and the correct owner manual.
Honda now labels its U.S. gasoline mower line discontinued. This page is not a claim of new stock, used condition, remaining warranty or confirmed recall clearance. A model-level manual cannot prove the status of an individual frame and engine. Ask for the actual identifiers and repair documents, inspect the deck, blade, bag, drive and control cables, and use Honda's recall/update lookup. A buyer who does not want fuel storage and engine maintenance may be better served by a current battery mower, while someone seeking an easy-service gas machine should compare its actual condition and available local support rather than assuming this older example is a bargain.

Primary references: Honda's U.S. HRR owner-manual selector; its archived 31VL0B01 owner manual; and the Honda HRR216/K2/K3/K4 parts-catalog listing. Honda's current gas mower status page marks the line discontinued; unit-specific recall status remains unknown.
Key details at a glance
| Cutting width | 21 in |
|---|---|
| Self-propelled drive | Yes |
| Cutting-height positions | 7 |
| Cutting-height range | 0.75–4 in |
| Mowing modes | mulching / bagging |
| Travel control | smart_drive |
| Fuel type | unleaded_gasoline |
| Engine model | Honda GCV160 |
| Engine displacement | 160 cc |
| Blade control | rotostop |
| Starter type | recoil_only |
| Fuel tank capacity | 0.29 gal |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
- Honda U.S. HRR owner manual selector, VXA B01 band MZCG 7,200,001–7,399,999
- Honda HRR216VXA B01 owner manual
- Honda U.S. HRR216K3/K4 parts catalog establishing K3 serial range
- Honda HRR Type VXA official selector image; shared type-level archive, not exact K3 serial photo
- Honda U.S. gasoline mower line status
- Honda recall and update lookup
Match the mower to your yard and routine.
Use the finder for essential mowing modes, drive and kit requirements, then compare the exact models.